Executive Board

Organ of the Foundation under German Civil Law

Executive Board of the German Heart Center Berlin

The German Heart Center Berlin is a Foundation under German civil law that pursues exclusively non-profit aims. The organs of the Foundation are the Foundation Council and the Executive Board. The members of the Executive Board are the directors of the Departments and the Institute for Anesthesiology, the nursing director and the business director. The chairman of the Executive Board is the medical director, Prof. Dr. med. Volkmar Falk; his deputy is Prof. Dr. med. Felix Berger.

Members of the Executive Board

Department of Cardiothoracic and Vascular Surgery

Prof. Dr. med. Volkmar Falk, Departmental Director and Medical Director of the German Heart Center Berlin

Deputy: PD Dr. med. Stephan Jacobs

Department of Internal Medicine - Cardiology

Prof. Dr. med. Burkert Pieske, Departmental Director

Deputy: Dr. med. Stephan Dreysse

Department of Congenital Heart Disease – Pediatric Cardiology

Prof. Dr. med. Felix Berger, Departmental Director

Deputy: Dr. med. Björn Peters

Department of Congenital Heart Surgery – Pediatric Surgery

Prof. Dr. med. Joachim Photiadis, Departmental Director

Deputy: Mi-Young Cho

Institute for Anesthesiology

Prof. Dr. med. Hermann Kuppe, Departmental Director

Deputy: PD Dr. med. Marian Kukucka

Business Management

Marcus Polle, Business Director


Sebastian Dienst, Nursing Director